Oh boy

I entered my newly completed women’s fiction in a contest today. I’ve entered a few contests in the past. A couple times I’ve even finalled. Usually I get a mix of high scores and low scores and have to get a discrepancy judge. Once I finalled in one contest and got a HORRIBLE score in another contest with the same manuscript.
So why am I doing this?
I had to really ask myself this before I ever did it. The answer: If it finals, it gets in front of a mainstream fiction editor. Without an agent. And that would make me happy.
I’m also interested in how this story plays somewhere other than Wichita Falls. So I took the chance, paid the $35 and entered a contest. We’ll see what happens.

While I was at that I lost my synopsis for my Intrigue wanna be I sent in June. I have no idea where the synopsis is. It’s not on my backup. It’s not on my hard drive. It’s like I titled it Identity Crisis and it decided to disappear. That stinks! It probably needed to be re-written anyway, so I guess now’s as good a time as any.

Which is fine really, because I’ve had a synopsis epiphany.
Actually, calling it epiphany is a stretch. I’m sure I’ve seen this a million a twelve times since 1997. But today, August 2, 2005, I finally got it.
The synopsis is a guide for me. BUT it’s really to show how commercial my book is. It’s to show an editor that I understand as a new author there has to be something to make readers BUY my book.
Good news: I can do that.
Bad news: Using that as my guide, my synopsises (Is that even a word?!) stink. UGH.
Good news: I can fix that.

Leave a Reply

