True Love

100_0058I’m spending the week with my grandparents.
My grandma’s been sick, heart trouble among other stuff, and today she told me she’s ready to go. But Grandpa’s not ready for her to go.
It’s pretty amazing to see these two together, still in love after so long.
It’s pretty scary to be here, helping, knowing this could be it, knowing that even if it’s not, the end is coming. It’s easier to pick up the phone, make a call, talk a little and avoid the reality of death and dying.
The doctor told my grandma to eat whatever she wanted today. She’s been a restricted diet, but she’s tired and nothing tastes good and she’s week from not eating. So today, we’re going to eat. 🙂
And we’re going to laugh. And I’m going to keep teasing her about taking her to the OKC mall so we can shop for dresses even though we both know that’s not going to happen.
And while we’re laughing and playing she’ll be teaching me lessons about life and love. Lessons I probably won’t be fully aware of until one day later. But that’s okay.
I’m glad I’m here.
Freaked out a little, but glad.
I’m seeing true love, and it’s definitely worth it.

IMG_0911

One response to “True Love

  1. Pingback: Odell Newton Vanderburg, you were an amazing Grandpa. I Love You! « A Writer's Life

Leave a Reply

