Hello

12:46 a.m.
I’m wrapping up my writing for the night, finishing the final cup of coffee, thinking through tomorrow’s scenes. Excited.
Phone Rings.
“Hello?!”
“Mom?” Static, giggles.
“Crap! I thought someone was dead.”
“ohh sorry.” (No you’re not! You’ve lived your entire life with me and my worst case scenario brain!)
“Mom.”
“What?”
“Wait there’s a bat.” Pause. giggles. “Okay. Mom.”
“What?”
“Can you check out the weather? The moon disappeared and we were wondering if there was an eclipse.”
(Because an eclipse is a weather event) TV on. Blinks. A lot.
“I can’t check out the TV. It takes twenty minutes to warm up.”
“Oh yeah.I forgot. Hey is anything happening in the news?”
“Just Judith Miller’s still in jail and Rehnquist is in the hospital with a fever.”
“Oh. Two judges, huh? Well, I’m going to go. See you tomorrow.”
“Okay. I love you.”
“Love you too. Oh yeah. My fingers are white and I’m coughing again. Love you. Bye.”

From who died? to what? to she’s so smart, to great,she’s got pneumonia again in less than a minute. My day is complete and I haven’t even gone to bed yet.
🙂

DD

Leave a Reply

