Wow

The mini-conference is over and I’m completely exhausted and totally jazzed about my writing.
Lori Wilde, super cool Blaze and Warner author, talked about High Concept. I’d actually heard of high concept in the past, but Lori worked with us to make our concepts concrete enough to really fit the bill of what a high concept is.
The amazingly talented, friendly, outgoing, margarita machine party throwing Jane Graves talked about Kickin’ it up a Notch, or as she put it taking your writing to the next level. Whoa. It was amazing to see how perfectly fine writing can be outstanding with just a little more concrete information.
And finally, the incomparable Helen R. Myers talked about how to really get there. She just turned in her 40th book. She’s amazing.
Once again I was completely blown away by how giving the multi-published authors, in the midst of crazy deadlines and busy lives, give selflessly to my small 17-member RWA chapter. The tips they shared and lessons they taught are just what I needed to hear.
The big thing I learned is I’ve got to be concrete in my pitches and my synopsis.
I’m so excited.
Tonight I’m going to sleep because I haven’t slept more than a couple hours the last two nights. Tomorrow, after church, I’m writing. And then I’m writing some more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

