Rockin’ and Rollin’

Wichita Falls is best known for the massive tornado we had in 1979. Every spring since I’ve been here, severe storms have been a part of my April and May. It didn’t even thunder this year until a couple weeks ago. We had hail, baseball sized hail, with no thunderstorm.
That changed today.
Today, when we got ready for church, we got to watch massive amazing storms build. By the time church was out the tornadoes were going strong. The TV weatherpeople were going crazy. They love these days. They live for these moments.
The sirens were sounding about two miles from my house and dh decides we need to go home. We were at my MIL’s. Her house is nice and safe and across town from the sirens.
I told him forget it.
Then the rain stopped.
And there on the radar we saw a teensy speck of clear weather.
I agreed to get in the car and make the short trip home,
We made it, but that was CRAZY.
It’s nasty weather outside. Power sparks flying off electric lines, funnels hanging all over the place, wind blowing hard enough to bend huge trees to the ground.
And I was in the car because it wasn’t raining! UGH!
Saving the new shoes (I bought awesome shoes today) wasn’t worth it.
I don’t know why I relented.
This man, the man I love with all my heart, hears sirens and if it’s not raining goes to the corner with all the other guys in the neighborhood and watches guessing on when the storm might get here. I go to the closet with a flashlight, a bottle of water and a good book. If it’s late, I take my pillow.
I don’t understand him. UGH.

Church:
Tonight’s service was about respecting our bodies and the calories in our favorite fast foods. A large cherry limeaid has almost 500 calories. 500. UGH! An awesome blossom has over 2000 calories. WHAT? Needless to say when church was over we were ravenous, so we went out to El Chico’s. The preacher didn’t say anything about Mexican food. To top it off we had dessert. In honor of the message we had apple skillet.
Apple crisp carmalized with cinnamon icecream on top. It was wonderful. I think there might have been three slices of apple in it.
Needless to say I have no idea how many Points I ate tonight. I’m sure it’s not pretty.
But it’s not as ugly as it would have been if we’d have been caught out in a tornado. UGH!

Leave a Reply

