Computer Problems

Last week it was no computer access, this week it was no LiveJournal access. I can’t believe how addicted I’ve gotten to this thing!
But something big has happened to me this week. An epiphany of sorts.
Somehow in the last four or five years I’ve allowed myself to become the biggest kind of hypocrite there is.
Hi. My name is Mary Beth and I’m a pro romance snob.
For years I’ve responded and talked about how so many in the world of NYT and literati and those that embrace Oprah put down the romance industry.
I’m a reader. I’ve always been a reader. A reader of everything. Romance, Sci-Fi, The Wall Street Journal, cereal boxes, the classics. I love reading because I love words.
But in the last few years I’d quit reading everything except news and romance. It had to be a subconscious response to the anti-romance comments I’d heard and read. I’m not exactly sure why I thought it was a good idea to surround myself with romance and the occasional mystery and nothing else, but it limited not only my reading world but my appreciation of the craft of world building and word usage.
This week I’ve read two excellent books. They weren’t romance.
Peace Like a River (see my last blog entry) and The Poisonwood Bible. Both were incredible. Both touched me deeply. Both helped me grow as a writer, I hope. I’m reading The Lovely Bones now. I don’t know why I’m just now reading it. It’s been on my TBR list for a long time.
I love romance. That’s not going to change. But I’m not going to limit myself again.

On another note, one of my former students stopped by today. It’s amazing to see these kids all grown up. It makes me happy. šŸ™‚ If you’re reading, hi Tom.
He told me he googled my name and the first thing he found was my LiveJournal. It surprised him to think of his former teacher as a person. I understand. I still call my journalism teacher Mrs. Gillespie and we’ve been competing against each other in UIL events for over 11 years. She told me I could call her Anne once. I still can’t even imagine doing that! I’m lucky I get to share my love of language and writing with my students. I hope I do make a difference.
Tomorrow I get to be the vice-principal for a day. At first I was honored at being asked. Then I was terrified. 99% of my kids are incredible. Discipline issues aren’t exactly a problem in my classroom. Tomorrow, they’ll be my life.
I’ve thought about going into administration, but I’ve shied away for several reasons. I can’t share that love of language as a principal. My job is my dream job (other than being a full-time writer). I teach because I really do think I can make a difference in kids’ lives. I really do think publications are essential to the continuation of life in the good ol’ USA. I believe teaching kids about their constitutional rights and reminding them to read for the fun of it is important. None of that is possible in the admin’s office. I guess I’ll get a crash course on what I do or don’t want to be when I grow up tomorrow. Yikes.

Leave a Reply

