GH mail

I got my Golden Heart scores in the mail. They stunk.
And you know what? That’s okay.
I keep reading all these messages from people talking about how they ranked in the top quarter or bottom half and people are really upset about this and all I can think, is whoa people, save the rejection stings for real rejection.
I love the Golden Heart contest. It gives all the unpubs like me a chance to get their work out there, competing against thousands of other hopefuls. Those that final have the chance to get their entire manuscript in front of an editor. And lots of people sell those books. Attending the awards ceremony is fabulous. And every year I don’t enter I kick myself because I’ve given up any opportunity to be on that stage in that pretty dress saying thank you to my chapter (RRRW), my CPs (the Bad Girls Critique Group), and super cool authors Shelley Bradley and Sylvia McDaniels for their unwavering faith in my future success.
The only reason I enter is to final. So far I’ve been 100% unsuccessful.
But that’s okay.
When my scores came in, I cringed for exactly three seconds. And then I put them back in their envelope and put the envelope in the trash. It’s not that I don’t care about what other writers think about my work. It’s just that it really DOESN’T matter what other writers think about my work. Editors matter. One day, an agent will matter. MY CPs matter. Once I’m published, my readers will matter.
I hope that’s a healthy way to look at the GH.
It’s an opportunity like no other.
It’s an exciting contest with great value if you final. And it’s a BLAST to hang out on message boards the day the finalist calls go out. It hurts a little when you do’t get the call, but it’s just so amazing to read the stories of those who do get the call, it makes it okay.
The big thing is the GH is a contest. Some finalists don’t sell. The key to being published isn’t a contest. the key to publishing is writing. And then getting that work out there.
Just my opinion.

Leave a Reply

