Desperate TV

I love Desperate Housewives. Even though my mom constantly sends me e-mails about how horrible it is for my mind, I love it. It makes me laugh. It makes me cry. It is AWESOME! I don’t know what about it draws me. It’s over the top and totally believable at the same time. The characters are so real. I feel like I know these people.
I want that in my books and I don’t know how to get it. I guess by writing more, by getting to know my characters more, by paying more attention.
More attention like Kelly Armstrong did in Bitten. I read the book this weekend after hearing tons about it and Dime Store Magic. The book disturbed me. It was so dark. I felt so bad for the heroine. But I couldn’t stop reading. I HAD to know what happened and who the bad guys were. I don’t usually get into books like this. When my students asked me what I was reading, I heard myself saying, “Well, it’s this murder mystery only the heroine is a werewolf and her pack is under attack,” and I was a little shocked I was reading the book. I read Karen Whiddon’s werewolf book and loved it, but it was WAY tame compared to this. I read the Anita Blake series until Anita lost her humanity. I LOVED that series, but when Anita lost her humanity it made me too sad to continue reading her stories. My friends say I take things too seriously. I guess I do. I loved Anita because she was both light and dark, good and evil. but the evil was always motivated. She finally got to the point that the light had to go away. I respect that LKH stayed true to her character, I just can’t read her anymore. But that’s okay because LOTS of other people do. And they love her.
I hope people will one day love my characters. That they’ll feel like they know them. That they’ll mourn if I change them into someone they can no longer read. I want to write powerful stories that move people. I guess that starts with me making the commitment to sit at the computer and create stories. It’s a commitment I used to have no problem making. Today I sit at the computer and think about writing and go hang out on bulletin boards or e-mail instead. I don’t know why. But I do know it’s a choice. I can continue to read great books and watch great TV and talk about how I want to do that one day or I can read great books, watch great TV and sit down at the computer and DO THAT TODAY!
It’s just like anything else. There’s no magic, no secret. Sit down and work.

Leave a Reply

