We WON!!!

I know I’m a competitive person. Actually I’m ridiculously competitive for someone who can’t play a single sport and never, ever could. I want to win. I love to win. Winning is the best feeling in the world.
So when my UIL team started today by getting swept by our cross-town rival (We HATE them!!!!) in newswriting, an even we always do well in, I almost died. I tried not to let the kids see how upset I was. But I don’t think I quite managed it. Especially not when I glared at the points board like it had caused the sweep.
But then the next three journalism events took place and my kids rocked! We won the team points and the absolute best: my baby girl placed fourth in headlines. She’s the alternate to Regions and this was her FIRST time competing at district. She did so great and she was so happy and when she got her ribbon she started to go to her friends but instead she ran to me and gave me a huge bear hug and it was the BEST moment of my entire teaching career!
I’m one proud teacher and one proud mom! I hope I can effectively capture this feeling so I can use it in my writing.

Leave a Reply

