RWA National Tapes

Listened to two classes on my iPod while I exercised. They were prefect. First I listened to an amazing Dare to Dream workshop. I don’t remember who gave the class, but she was incredible. She wrote for years, had lots of rejections and finally started getting a lot of interest when her husband was diagnosed with cancer. At times, I wanted to cry, but her message was so inspiring. Basically it’s the same thing I’ve heard a million times before. DOn’t Quit. Write big, dream big, goal set. It was great. Biggest thing she said: If you have a dream, and it’s really a dream, ask yourself what have I done to get there today. If the answer’s nothing, it’s not much of a dream. HOW TRUE! Obvious, sure. But overlooked often.
I have a dream of being a published author. I want to write romances for the masses. 🙂 That dream is possible. I just have to keep writing. She said Suzanne Brockmann set out to write ten books in one year. That she basically earned ten years of experience in that one year. WOW. I hadn’t thought of that at all. She also got me interested in entering contests again. I go back and forth on that, but contests are good for cold reads, and they get your work infront of an editor.

THEN I listened to a class on setting. I have some ideas now on how to work it into my story a little better than I have it now….which is a good thing since I’m logging off now and going to write. I have a dream and I’m going to do something about it.
Woo Hoo!

Leave a Reply

