Day Jobs

I love my day job. I mean I really love it. It’s what I’ve always wanted to do and I get to work with the best kids in my school. It keeps me on my toes and it keeps me young. It’s fun. Stressful but still a good time. Of course we’re ALWAYS on deadline, so that gets old, but it’s great for adrenaline.

BUT it doesn’t come close to the feeling of writing a great story and awesome characters and watching the whole thing unfold over time. I love my new hero. I mean it. It’s crazy but I do. I think he’s my best hero to date. He’s just so real. And my heroine is learning so much about herself! I can’t wait to see these two get together. BUT they’ve got another 100 pages before they can get too comfortable.

I can’t wait for the weekend. I write in acts and my stories tend to be three acts. I finished Act 1 on my new story and I want to go back and flesh it out. Make sure all the words are working. Push the tension. But it’s got to wait until the weekend. That’s MAJOR work, and it can’t be done in spurts like the writing can. I love my day job but I’d love to take off tomorrow to get started on that Act 1 revision! But deadlines beckon and DD would miss me, so I won’t do that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

