Divine Dining FREE! Guest Post by Janet Brown

I’m thrilled to have my good friend Janet on the blog today! Her book Divine Dining: 365 Devotions to Guide You to Healthier Weight and Abundant Wellness is free on Amazon now. –MB

***

DivineDiningCover 8-7-13 copyThe National Health and Nutrition Survey in 2004 tells us 133.6 million (66%) adult Americans are obese or overweight. I heard on TV the other day that the percent has risen now to 72% of adult Americans.

     A Purdue University study indicates conservative churches such as southern Baptists, Assembly of God, and Church of God fight this battle most often. Richard Kreider of Baylor University gives further insight into this. These denominations “avoid dancing, tobacco, and alcohol, but give no guidelines for overeating.” He goes on to say our churches more often attract with food, not action events.

From my own true story, I can say that though I gave my heart to God at age seven and attended church regularly, compulsive overeating almost ruined my life. I teetered on the brink of suicide and divorce for several years. Praise God, He gave me an emotional and spiritual healing in time.

Even if you don’t suffer from compulsive overeating to the point where it almost ruins your life like I did, still unhealthy eating habits can slow you down and diminish your witness.

Divine Dining: 365 Devotions to Guide You to Healthier Weight and Abundant Wellness inspires compulsive overeaters to rely on God for their true spiritual nourishment day by day. One woman’s journey to healing leads the way.

Here’s one of the devotions from Divine Dining:September 11

254. My Do It Myself

“For I the Lord thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.” Isaiah 41:13

My oldest daughter and son-in-law bought an inside basketball goal for our first grandchild, their niece. We put it away and brought it out for each one thereafter. By the time, my third and youngest grandchild was born, the basketball goal was worn, but still usable. The pen that held it to a certain height kept getting lost, so I hid it. My grandson loved that goal. By age two, he was wise to my tricks of hiding the pen. He’d drag the whole contraption into the living area and say “pen,” indicating I should get the lost part. He would take it from my hands and say, “My do it myself.”

He would aim and miss several times. I’d say, “let Mimi do it.” But no, “my do it myself.” In God-given grandma wisdom, I covered his right hand with mine and guided the pen into the hole. His eyes lit up. Then, he swatted away my hand and reaffirmed, “my do it myself.”

What a picture of us at times. We’re taught to be independent. When faced with a compulsion we can’t control, we argue with ourselves saying, “I’m an accomplished, capable, intelligent woman. I can get on a diet, stay on it and control this thing.” But, we try and try, and can’t. No matter how many times we tell God with our actions and words, “my do it myself,” we can’t.

Finally, God holds our right hand and puts the pieces together. But, do we still shake His hand away and say, “my do it myself.” We can’t. God help us. We never can.

Prayer: When I try to walk in my own power, remind me of my grandson slapping away my hand. God, I need You to hold my right hand.


Notice: Amazon is offering Divine Dining for free during the dates of Nov. 12-16. Here’s the link:

Janet K. Brown  Janet K. Brown lives in Wichita Falls, Texas with her husband, Charles. Though she has written most of her adult life, since her retirement as a bookkeeper and medical coder, she writes as a second career and as a ministry.

Divine Dining is the author’s second book. It encompasses her passion for diet, fitness, and God’s Word.  Janet released her debut novel, an inspirational young adult, Victoria and the Ghost, in July, 2012. She continues to write short stories for teens and adults. The sequel to her young adult is contracted to release in June, 2014.

She and her husband love to travel with their RV, visit their three daughters, two sons-in-law and three grandchildren, and work in their church. Find her at http:/ /www.janetkbrown.com on Twitter, @janetkbrowntx , on Facebook @  http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Janet-K-Brown-Author/143915285641707

***
Thanks for being here, Janet! And thank you for being so open and honest about your weight loss journey and your walk with God. I know Divine Dining is helping others!

One response to “Divine Dining FREE! Guest Post by Janet Brown

  1. Thanks for letting me stop by for a visit today, MB. I wanted to let everyone know about this free offer. We all love free.

Leave a Reply

